This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)

Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur

Last modified: 2002-11-16 by
Keywords: malaysia | kuala lumpur | federal territory of kuala lumpur | wilayah persekutuan kuala lumpur | crescent: points to fly (yellow) | star: 14 points (yellow) | stripes: 15 |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

[Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)] 1:2 | stripes 1+1+1+1+1+1+1+9+1+1+1+1+1+1+1
by Mark Sensen

See also:

Other sites:


Federal (capital) territory of Malaysia. The proportions are 1:2. (Source: National State Anthems, Flags and Crests of Malaysia, special issue of the Vlaggen Documentatie Centrum Nederland, April 1993).

Mark Sensen, 27 July 1996

Number of Red and White Stripes

From comparison of FOTW, Czech journal Vexilologie, and the (otherwise correct) World Flag Database and Atlas Geografique Mondial websites that images of (...) Federal Capital Territory (Kuala Lumpur) are unsettled and/or incorrect. How many red and white stripes should be included? I believe 6+6 (i.e. 3 red and 3 white above the blue stripe, and 3 white and 3 red below it) but I am not certain about it.

Jan Zrzavy, 20 June 2001

There are 7+7 stripes (i.e. four white and three red stripes both above and below the blue stripe). The ratio of the blue stripe is 9/23 of the height of the flag, the 14 red and white stripes symbolise the territorial units of Malaysia at this time.

Falko Schmidt, 1 July 2001

The Information Department of Malaysia website shows the flag with 7+7 stripes, and explains:

The Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory flag consists of white and red stripes of equal width, and dark blue bigger stripe at the centre with yellow star and crescent, based on the national flag. These characteristics cannot be separated because Kuala Lumpur is Malaysia's Federal Capital as well as Federal Territory.

The 14 red and white stripes (across) represent the 13 States in Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory which are under the Federal Government administration. The crescent and star stand for Islam as the official religion. The 14-pointed star represents the 13 States in Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory which acts as the Central Government and Administration.

The dark blue at the centre stands for unity of the multi-racial city folks of Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory.

Red denotes courage and strength of the city in facing the challenges in the quest for development of a dynamic and progressive cosmopolitan city.

Yellow signifies sovereignty and prosperity of Kuala Lumpur.

White symbolises grandeur, cleanliness and beauty of the city in a glittering garden.

Santiago Dotor, 28 September 2001