This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Labuan (Malaysia)

Wilayah Persekutuan Labuan, Federal Territory of Labuan

Last modified: 2005-02-12 by
Keywords: malaysia | labuan | federal territory of labuan | wilayah persekutuan labuan | victoria | port victoria | borneo | crescent: points to fly (yellow) | star: 14 points (yellow) | ship: sailing | sun: rising | sea |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Labuan (Malaysia)]
by Mark Sensen

See also:


Labuan is the second federal territory of Malaysia, an island off the coast of Sabah and formerly one of the Straits Settlements. (Source: "Flagmaster" no.082, 1996).

Mark Sensen, 27 July 1996

The Danish Encyclopaedia has a number of things about Labuan:

  1. The main town on the island, which is also named Labuan, used to be named Victoria.
  2. Labuan was made a federal territory in 1984 (FOTW says 1982).
  3. Labuan is an important town for Philippine smugglers.
My often-mentioned Allers Illustrerede Konversations-Leksikon (1906-10) has the name of the main town as Port Victoria.

Ole Andersen, 13 November 1999

I think it's still called Victoria, in the way that George Town, Penang, is still officially George Town, but normally just called Penang.

Andrew Yong, 13 November 1999

British Colony of Labuan 1912-1946

[British Colony of Labuan 1912-1946]
by Mario Fabretto

Labuan and Sabah

It is sometimes asked why Labuan is associated with Sabah. It seems logical to me, bearing in mind that Sabah was generally known as North Borneo until 1963, and Labuan was part of North Borneo between 1890 and 1906, and again since 1946. As far as I can make out the sequence was:

David Prothero, 16 March 1998 and
Robert Kee, 15 August 1999