This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Yugoslavia (1992-2003)

Jugoslavija - Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Savezna Republika Jugoslavija

Last modified: 2004-02-07 by
Keywords: yugoslavia | jugoslavija | serbia and montenegro |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of F.R. Yugoslavia]by Zeljko Heimer

Flag adopted 27 Avril 1992, coat of arms adopted 29 December 1993.
Proportion: 1:2
Description: Horizontally divided blue-white-red.
Use: on land, civil, state and war flag.

Colour approximate specifications (as given in Album des Pavillons [pay00]):

See also:

From Yugoslavia to Serbia and Montenegro

On 14 March 2002, the Agreement on the Union of Serbia and Montenegro was signed by the president of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the Federal Deputy Prime Minister, the President of the Republic of Montenegro, the Prime Ministers of the governments of cs-sr.html and Montenegro as well as the High Representative of the European Union, as an observer.
The Agreement stated that the new state should be called "Serbia and Montenegro".

On 6 December 2002, the 27-member commission on constitutional reform presented a first draft of the new federal constitution for Serbia and Montenegro.

On 4 February 2003, the Parliament of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia adopted "The Constitutional Charter of the State Community of Serbia and Montenegro", together with the law on its implementation.
By so adopting the Charter, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was renamed Serbia and Montenegro.
The new unicameral parliament of the federation will have 126 seats (Serbia: 91, Montenegro: 35), filled by nominees of the two state parliaments for the first two years until public elections are taking place. After three years, both states are allowed to unilaterally leave the federation on public referendum. Full independence of Montenegro, therefore, is still a possibility.

The law on the implementation of the constitutional charter of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro says:

Article 23

The Law on the Flag of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro shall be passed within 60 days from the date on which the Parliament of Serbia and Montenegro is constituted. The Law on the Coat-of-arms and the anthem of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro shall be passed by the end of the year 2003.

Therefore, the national flag, arms and anthem of Serbia and Montenegro are still those of the former Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Ivan Sache, 16 April 2003

Flags used in Yugoslavia (1992-2003)

Since Serbia and Montenegro still uses the flags formerly used in Yugoslavia from 1992 to 2003, we present those flags on pages dedicated to Serbia and Montenegro, this in order to avoid unnecessary duplication of information.

Those pages are listed in the index of the pages related to Serbia and Montenegro.

Ivan Sache, 1 February 2004