This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Subdivisions of Tierra del Fuego province (Argentina)

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: la rioja |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Subdivisions of La Rioja province: See also:

Malvinas department

The Falkland islands, in the southern Atlantic Ocean, as well as its dependency South Georgia, have been ruled by the United Kingdom since 1832. In April-June 1982, Argentina invaded the islands, which were briefly occupied and reconquered by England. The defeat speeded up the return of a democratic government in Argentina.

Argentina has since then maintained its territorial claims on the Islas Malvinas (this name comes from the French name, îles Malouines, which refers to Saint-Malo, whose inhabitants are called malouins) and the Islas del Atlántico Sur.

Ivan Sache, 19 Jun 2004

Misreported Malvinas flag

[Falklands triservice flag]
by António Martins, 21 Dec 1999

Three equal horizontal stripes of dark blue - red - celeste, with the map of islands in yellow or golden in the red part. This flag was reported by Banderas [ban], and is not sure that was a “provincial” flag, but perhaps an “military zone” flag.
Jaume Ollé, 26 Sep 1998, 02 Oct 1998, 25 Dec 1999 and 01 Jan 2000

This was later identified as a british (not argentine!!) military flag (Falkland triservice flag?).
António Martins, 20 Jul 2001

  Red dog casino