This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Maritime Houseflags A (Australia)


Last modified: 2005-04-02 by
Keywords: shipping: australia | adelaide s.s. co. | archo. currie and co. | asia-australia express service | australian coastal shipping commission | australian national line | cross: blue | star: 8-pointed (red) | saltire (re |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Adelaide S.S. Co. Ltd.

[Adelaide S.S. Co. Ltd. flag] by Jarig Bakker, 17 Jan 2005

Adelaide S.S. Co. Ltd., Adelaide: white flag, blue cross; in the center a red 8-pointed star.
Source: Brown's Flags and Funnels of British and Foreign Steamship Companies [wed26].
Jarig Bakker, 17 Jan 2005

Archo. Currie and Co.

I am trying to identify a shipping company from it's house flag. The flag is white having a red cross in saltire with a solid diagonal blue square superimposed upon it. The illustration I have I estimate as being mid 19th century.
Tony Burton, 29 Jun 2004

I have found this Australian Company: Archo. Currie & Co of Melbourne.
Dominique Cureau, 30 Jun 2004

Asia-Australia Express Service

[Asia-Australia Express Service] by Jarig Bakker, 13 Oct 2003

From Koninklijke Java - China - Paketvaart Lijnen (K.J.C.P.): The Asia-Australia Express Service (K.J.C.P.L. + China Navigation Co., Ltd., end 1973-1975) had a houseflag: Blue with capitals AAE.
Jarig Bakker, 13 Oct 2003

Australian Coastal Shipping Commission/Australian National Line

[Australian Coastal Shipping Commission] by Jarig Bakker, 3 Aug 2004

From the link provided by Barbara Tomlinson of The National Maritime Museum

The house flag of the Australian Coastal Shipping Commission, Melbourne. A flag with a white field bearing a blue cross. The letters 'ACSC' in red appear in the four quarters. The flag is made of a wool and synthetic fibre bunting. It has a cotton hoist and is machine sewn. A rope is attached. This design was in use from 1956 to 1968 when the initials 'ACSC' were replaced by 'ANL' in the first quarter.

The Commission was established by Act of Parliament on 1 October 1956 to take over and manage vessels previously under the control of the Australian Shipping Board. This body had been made responsible for the management of merchant vessels in government ownership as a result of wartime conditions. The registered name of the fleet was the Australian National Line. It extended its operations to Japan and Europe in 1969 and to other countries in the 1970s. In 1974 it became the Australian Shipping Commission and was replaced by the wholly government owned Australian National Line in 1989.

Jarig Bakker, 3 Aug 2004