This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sint-Laureins (Municipality, Province of East Flanders, Belgium)

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: sint-laureins | watervlitt | waves: 2 (blue) | waves: 3 (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

[Flag of Sint-Laureins]by Filip van Laenen

See also:

Description of the flag

Sint-Laureins (7,000 inhabitants) is located in the arrondissement of Eeklo. According to the Gids voor Vlaanderen (1995), the name is derived from the patron saint of the city.
In the former municipality of Watervliet, now part of St.Laureins, the family name Lauweryn has been playing a major part since 1506, when Jeroen Lauweryn, chancellor and treasurer of Philip the Beautiful, Count of Flanders, reclaimed the inundated land.

The flag is: Gules, three fess wavy Argent, between the three fesses wavy Azure. Proportions are 2:3.

The flag was adopted on 7 May 1985.

Source: Flags of the Low Countries

Jarig Bakker, 21 October 2001

  Red dog casino