This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website


Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: china | soviet union | uighuristan | turkestan | xinjiang |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Originally a large undefined area in central Asia, Turkestan covered an area of 1.6 million square miles from the Caspian Sea into Xinjiang. Along the Silk Road connecting China to the Mediterranean, the area has been conquered numerous times over the centuries, first by the Persians, Chinese and Mongols. In the mid-1800s, the western portion was conquered by Russia, and the area divided into Uzbek, Tadzhik and Kirgiz, and portions into Kazakh from which the modern day nations of Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan were erected.

In 1876, Eastern Turkestan was occupied by the Manchu rulers and in 1884 annexed as Xinjiang. Today, East Turkestan is an autonomous region of China.

See also:

Flag of Turkestan, 1919-1921

[Flag of Turkestan, 1919-21]
by Jaume Ollé, 1997-January-27

Flag of Turkestan, 1921-23

[Flag of Turkestan, 1921-24]
by Jaume Ollé, 1997-January-27

In the years 1921/22 to 1923/24, the Basmachi flag of Panturania was used.
Jaume Ollé, 1997-January-27

  Red dog casino