This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Antioquia Department (Colombia)

Departamento de Antioquia

Last modified: 2004-10-30 by dov gutterman
Keywords: antioquia | colombia | palm tree | plane tree | matron |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Official Flag
by Jaume Olle'

See also:


Communication from Esteban Rivera, based on the information of the Tourist Guide "Antioquia: World of Delights" -Turantioquia - 2th ed. 199, page 28:
"The flag has its origin in the University of Antioquia (Universidad de Antioquia - founded in 1822), that nearly since its foundation had between its emblems a green and white flag that was hoisted in all its official acts. In 1962, by order of the departmental Assembly it was decreed the use by the department of the same flag as that of the University of Antioquia.
With respect to the departments coat-of-arms the government of the State of Antioquia determined by decree of 23 August 1812 to represent the coat-of-arms in the following form: a matron dressed and adorned like an Indian, sat at the bottom of a golden hill between the plane tree and the palm tree, with a copious river at her feet, wearing in her head the cap of the French revolution. The golden hill represents wealth and virtue; the palm tree, triumph and victory; the plane tree, abundance; the cap, freedom; the matron, the Antioquian race."
Jaume Olle'

Antioquia adopted the flag by Ordenanza 6 of 10 December 1962 ; CoA adopted on 23 August 1812 by Decerto number 21.
Luis carrillo, 15 July 2002

Flag of Regular Use

Flag of Regular Use
by Jaume Olle'

Metropolotian Area of the Aburra Valley

Medellín and its Metropolitan Area - Medellín, the captial of the Department of Antioquia, together with  other municipalities, form the "Área Metropolitana del Valle de Aburrá, or Metropolotian Area of the Aburra Valley.  This is for economic purposes, in order to get more funds from the central government.  They have an English page available at <>
This "Area" is made up of 10 municipalities, which are as follows:
La Estrella
Each one has its own flag, anthem and Coat of Arms.
Esteban Rivera Velez, 5 September 2001

Coat of Arms

by Luis Carrillo, 7 July 2002