This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Novi Sad (Municipality, Serbia and Montenegro [Serbia])

Last modified: 2004-11-06 by
Keywords: novi sad | ujvidek | neusatz |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

History of Novi Sad

Novi Sad (Hungarian, Ujvidek; German, Neusatz) is a town and district, and the capital city of Vojvodina, on the left bank of the Danube. The town has got 178,896 inhabitants (1990 census).

The 1910 population census yielded 33,590 inhabitants, divided as follows:

From 1918/1920 (Declaration of Novi Sad / Treaty of Trianon) to 1941, the city was incorporated to Yugoslavia. In 1941, the area was occupied and annexed by Hungary. The Treaty of Paris reallocated it to Yugoslavia in 1947.

István Molnár, 8 October 2000

Flag of Novi Sad (Ujvidek) in Austro-Hungarian Empire

[Novi Sad, 1941-1947]by István Molnár

The flag of Ujvidek has seven unequal blue and white vertical stripes.

Source: Sándor Széll. Városaink neve, címere és lobogója [szs41].

István Molnár, 24 September 2002