Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: stara ves |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors
Number of inhabitants by 1.1. 2002: 525. The village was mentioned first in 1561 when the bailiff´s house under emphyteuta was founded. The settlement was settled by the family of Eder, but it is probable, that people had lived in that place even before. In 1584 the name of the village is mentioned first in the Deed of Sales issued by Emperor Rudolf II. In the parish registry office kept by dean Schmidt in 1693, the village was considered to be a part of the Manor of Rymářov. Above Stará Ves, two streams ( Střibrný Klučský) connect into one stream. These streams prove past mining activities. However, there not documents available which were issued before the second half of the 17th century. In the 17th century there was a paper mill and iron works in the village. Since 1693 there was a school, which was the only school in the Rýmařov parish for pupils from other villages. In the 18th century the family of Harrach re-started mining of silver and lead ore. At the end of the 19th century a number of shops and small works (mostly wood processing works) were opened along the Podolský stream.
Sights in the village include the church (kostel Povýšení sv.Kříže) built in 1777, iron works - Anenská huť of 1800, narrow-gauge railway of 1892 (3 km long railway for transport of wood in the valley of the Žďárský stream) and a local cemetery with unique cast-iron crosses (made in the Mariánské valley).
In 1961 the village Žďárský Potok was incorporated into Stará Ves. In 1980 Stará Ves became a local part of Rýmařov. In 1991 Stará Ves regained independence and Žďárský Potok remained the local part of Stará Ves.
Jarig Bakker, 11 Jun 2002