This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Czech Regional Symbols

Last modified: 2004-03-13 by
Keywords: czech republic | region | kraj |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

This page is best viewed with ISO:8859-2, aka Latin2, aka Central European fonts See also:

Regional symbols

According the Act. Nr. 129/2000 Kraje (Krajs - Regions) have the right to their own symbols. On the other hand, the Okresy (District), which shall be dissolved in 2002 are not selfgoverning entities, so they do not have this right!
Aleš Křižan, 4 Dec 2000

We can summarize the present state:

Jan Zrzavy, 28 Dec 2001

Yesterday, four flags of the Czech regions (Central Bohemian, South Bohemian, Zlin, and Hradec Kralove) were officially granted by Vaclav Klaus, the chairman of the House of Representatives of the Parliament, to th regional hejtmans. They are identical to those included in FOTW.

At present, the symbols of Central Bohemian, Hradec Kralove, Karlovy Vary, Liberec, Olomouc, Pardubice, South Bohemian, and Zlin Regions are officially in use; symbols of two more regions (Plzen and Vysocina regions) were approved and are to be included into the next decree(s).
Jan Zrzavy, 22 Jan 2002

Yesterday, one new regional flag, that of the Plzen Region, has been formally granted. Consequently, the flags of Central Bohemian, Hradec Kralove, Karlovy Vary, Liberec, Olomouc, Pardubice, Plzen, South Bohemian, and Zlin Regions are officially
in use; that of Vysocina is waiting to be formally granted.
Jan Zrzavy, 26 Feb 2002

RA = approved by regional assembly,
PSC = discussed by parliamentary subcommittee (an advisory body of the chairman of the House of Representatives),
PD = parliamentary decree (official granting the flag).
The date of the ceremony of granting the flag to the region's hejtman is irrelevant from the vexillological (and legal) point of view.

Jan Zrzavy, 1 Mar 2002

I received from Petr Exner, member of that Heraldic Sub-Comitee of the Czech parliament, an answer to my question:
"The CoA and flags of the Czech regions has the same pattern. Resolution of the Parliamentary Committee for Science, Education, Culture, Youth and Sport No. 198 (8.11.2000) on the pattern of regional symbols approved a decision of
Subcommittee for Heraldry and Vexillology. In those decision is written:

The CoA is quartered.
In the first quarter is the historical CoA of Land where mostly region is situated.
In the second quarter is CoA or key derivate of CoA of the region´s capital.
The third quarter expressed recent or traditional identity of region.
In the fourth quarter is the historical CoA of Land where the rest of region is situated.
The flag of the region is heraldic one.
Prague, the capital of the Czech Republic, is exception (because the CoA and flag are historical).

The reason of this decision is, that the CoA and flags of the regions must be simply distinguishable from those of cities and village symbols. There are only a few quartered municipals flags and no one used historical land´s CoA. In the future will be approved no municipal symbols, which can be similar to regions one. The second reason is, that the symbols of regions would be pretentiously that municipal symbols.

In the case of esthetical reasons or adhering of the heraldical and vexillological rules may be the order of fields changed (e.g. symbols of the Olomoucký kraj)."
Pascal Vagnat, 30 Jan 2003