This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ansbach County (Mittelfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Ansbach

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: landkreis ansbach | ansbach county | coat of arms (eagle: double-headed) | coat of arms (eagle: black) | coat of arms: chief (quarterly: white-black) | coat of arms: chief (per fess dancetty) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Ansbach County (Mittelfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)]
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 24 July 1979

See also:


White-red stripes, adopted 24.07.1979. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Linder and Olzog 1996.

Stefan Schwoon, 11 October 2001

Dinkelsbühl, Feuchtwagen and Rothenburg ob der Tauber counties were incorporated to Ansbach during the 1972 municipal reform. From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on July 24, 1979.

The eagle is the symbol for the imperial cities of Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Dinkelsbühl and Feuchtwangen in the county. The chief combines the quartered arms of the Hohenzollern dynasty (Markgraves of Nuremberg) with the points of the arms of Franconia, the area in which the county is situated.

Literature: Linder and Olzog 1996.

Santiago Dotor, 29 January 2004

  Red dog casino