This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Altötting County (Oberbayern District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Altötting

Last modified: 2004-12-29 by
Keywords: landkreis altötting | altötting county | altoetting county | coat of arms: per pale (church: white) | coat of arms: per pale (crown: yellow) | coat of arms: per pale (lozengy: white-blue) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Altötting County (Oberbayern District, Bavaria, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon
Coat-of-arms adopted 17th March 1960, flag adopted 2nd February 1983

See also:


Yellow-blue-white stripes, adopted 02.02.1983. The arms are the same as those of the pre-reform county. The chapel in the arms is an important pilgrimage church. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 19 September 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on March 17, 1960 and reconfirmed on August 23, 1972.

The arms show in the right part the chapel of St. Mary, which was built in the 8th century. The chapel is considered the National Shrine of Bavaria. The left part shows the arms of Bavaria, on the one hand as a symbol of the state, and on the other hand they are a reminder of the fact that in Gurghausen a large castle (built in the 13th century) was owned by the Dukes of Bavaria. Furthermore the monastery in Altötting was founded by the Bavarian Dukes.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 5 November 2003