This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

City of Plettenberg (Märkischer Kreis County, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany)

Stadt Plettenberg

Last modified: 2002-09-07 by
Keywords: north rhine-westphalia | plettenberg | stadt plettenberg | märkischer kreis county | coat of arms (city wall: yellow) | coat of arms (towers: yellow) | coat of arms: inescutcheon (fess: chequy) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

[City of Plettenberg (Märkischer Kreis County, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany)] 3:5
by Stefan Schwoon

See also:


Plettenberg used its arms since 1912 without authoritative permission. The arms were kept when the town was enlarged in 1940 and officially confirmed in 1942. The statutes specify the flag as follows:

Die Stadtflagge enthält die Stadtfarben blau-gelb in zwei gleichgrossen länglich-rechteckigen Feldern mit dem Stadtwappen in der Mitte.
i.e. the flag of the city contains the colours of the city, blue-yellow, in two equally wide rectangular fields with the arms in the centre. Source: Hostert 1979.

Stefan Schwoon, 27 June 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

Plettenberg received city rights in 1397 from Count Dietrich of Mark. At the same time the first seal was made, which showed already the wall with the arms of the Counts of the Mark between the towers. The only difference was the crown, which was added in 1794. These arms were officially granted in 1910 and have not changed since.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 2 August 2002