This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis County (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany)

Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis, until 1st January 2004 Ludwigshafen County

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: rhineland-palatinate | rhein-pfalz-kreis county | ludwigshafen county | quartered | coat of arms: parted per bend sinister (lion) | coat of arms: parted per bend sinister (cross: couped) | coat of arms: inescutch |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis County (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany)] 3:5
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag adopted 28th October 1977, coat-of-arms adopted 1971

See also:


Quartered yellow and red, bearing the arms. Granted 28.10.1977. Sources: Debus 1988 and Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website.

Stefan Schwoon, 29 January 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The new arms were granted in 1971. The new arms combine elements from the old arms (granted on October 13, 1960) with the cross of Speyer. The lion is the lion of the Pfalz, as the largest part of the county historically belonged to the Pfalz. The [wavy bend sinister] shows the Rhine Valley and river [and the inescutcheon shows] the water lily leaves, as a typical symbol for the district.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1971.

Santiago Dotor, 23 October 2001

Landkreis Ludwigshafen will be renamed to Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis, effective 1.1.2004. Source: county website.

Stefan Schwoon, 8 December 2003

Hanging Flag


[Ludwigshafen County hanging flag (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon
  Red dog casino