This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County and Municipal Flags (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany)

Kreis- und Gemeindeflaggen

Last modified: 2004-08-07 by
Keywords: schleswig-holstein | municipality | laegerdorf | coat of arms (quartered) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Other sites:

County Flags


Schleswig-Holstein, Germany's northernmost state, has eleven counties, all of which have flags, and I was able to get information on five of them. In general, the designs are more varied than those of Rhineland-Palatinate. Sources: Stadler 1964-1971 and Reissmann 1997. You can find a map of the counties in this webpage.

Stefan Schwoon, 31 January 2001

County-Free City Flags

Flaggen kreisfreier Städte

Schleswig-Holstein has four county-free cities (Kreisfreie Städte): Flensburg, Kiel, Lübeck and Neumünster.

Stefan Schwoon, 12 February 2001

Angeln Region

Landschaft Angeln

[Angeln Region (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany)] 3:5
by Pascal Vagnat

The flag of Landschaft Angeln (Angeln region) in Schleswig-Holstein (Germany) appears in their website, including an image of an actual flag. Angeln is a peninsula between the Flensburger Busen and the Schlei river with in the north Flensburg and in the south Schleswig. It is supposed to be the home country of the Angles tribe, [which with the Saxons invaded England and] from which [the term] Anglosaxon is derived. (...) The region's coat-of-arms can be seen in this webpage. The shield is divided into 9 parts, which stand for 8 old divisions of Angeln:

Die Bilder auf dem Wappen sind sogenannten Harden (Landschaftsgebiete) zugeordnet. Von links nach rechts:

Jarig Bakker, 9 November 1999