This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

European Free Trade Association


Last modified: 2008-02-03 by
Keywords: efta | european free trade association | flags on flags | iceland | liechtenstein | norway | switzerland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of EFTA]

Flag of EFTA - Image by André Coutanche, 3 July 2005

See also:

Presentation of EFTA

The members of EFTA are:

The history of EFTA membership is as follows:

Herman De Wael, 22 June 1998

Flag of EFTA

Right across from several European Union buildings in Brussels is one of the secretariat of EFTA, the European Free Trade Association, which still exists, and is nowadays composed of just four member states : Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The flags of these four nations, and the EFTA flag adorn this building.

Herman De Wael, 20 June 1998

The EFTA Secretariat Annual Report for 2004, shows the logotype of EFTA including the flags of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, the black letters "EFTA" and a thick line with a thinner line underneath. The report also includes a photo which shows that there really is a flag - and the twin line is shown. There is no way of telling from the photo what the flag ratio should be. However, I note that the flags of the four member states which appear on the logo/flag are all standardised to the same ratio, which seems to be about 1:1.4.

André Coutanche, 3 July 2005