This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alpes-de-Haute-Provence (Department, France)

Last modified: 2003-05-17 by
Keywords: alpes-de-haute-provence | provence-alpes-cote d'azur |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 04
Region: Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Traditional province: Provence
Bordering departments: Hautes-Alpes, Alpes-Maritimes, Drôme, Var, Vaucluse
Bordering country: Italy (province of Piemonte)

Area: 6,925 km2
Population (1995): 138, 800 inhabitants

Préfecture: Digne-les-Bains
Sous-préfectures: Barcelonnette, Castellane, Forcalquier
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 32 cantons, 200 communes.

The department is named after the Alps mountains and the traditional province of Provence. It was formerly named Basses-Alpes (Lower-Alpes), and it was renamed Alpes-de-Haute-Provence (Alps of Upper-Provence) because "lower" was regarded as derogatory by the inhabitants of the department.

  Red dog casino