This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ariège (Department, France)

Last modified: 2002-01-18 by
Keywords: ariege | midi-pyrenees |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 09
Region: Midi-Pyrénées
Traditional provinces: Comté de Foix, Guyenne-et-Gascogne, Languedoc
Bordering departments: Aude, Haute-Garonne, Pyrénées-Orientales
Bordering countries: Andorra, Spain (Autonomous Community of Catalonia [province of Lleida])

Area: 4,890 km2
Population (1995): 136,600 inhabitants

Préfecture: Foix
Sous-préfectures: Pamiers, Saint-Girons
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 22 cantons, 332 communes.

The department is named after the river Ariège (170 km), tributary of Garonne.

  Red dog casino