This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cantal (Department, France)

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: cantal | auvergne |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 15
Region: Auvergne
Traditional provinces: Auvergne
Bordering departments: Aveyron, Corrèze, Haute-Loire, Lot, Lozère, Puy-de-Dôme

Area: 5,726 km2
Population (1995): 155,200 inhabitants

Préfecture: Aurillac
Sous-préfectures: Mauriac, Saint-Flour
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 27 cantons, 258 communes.

The department is named after the ancient volcanic massif of Cantal, which reaches 1,855 m at its highest point (Plomb du Cantal).

  Red dog casino