This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Charente-Maritime (Department, France)

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: charente-maritime | poitou-charentes | general council | logo | seagull | birds: 2 |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

[Flag of Charente-Maritime]by Pascal Gross

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 17
Region: Poitou-Charentes
Traditional provinces: Aunis, Saintonge, Poitou
Bordering departments: Charente, Gironde, Deux-Sèvres, Vendée

Area: 6,864 km2
Population (1995): 540,700 inhabitants

Préfecture: La Rochelle
Sous-préfectures: Jonzac, Rochefort, Saintes, Saint-Jean d'Angély
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 51 cantons, 472 communes.

The department is named after the river Charente (360 km), tributary of Atlantic Ocean.
It was formerly named Charente-Inférieure (Lower-Charente), and was renamed Charente-Maritime (Coastal-Charente) because Inférieure was regarded as derogatory by the inhabitants of the department.


Description of the flag

The logo which appears on the flag of the department is the property of the General Council of Charente-Maritime.

The official symbolism of the flag is the following:

Two seagulls are flying in unison. The land bird is green, the sea bird is blue. In Charente-Maritime, land and sea are the assets of our success and the promises for our future. This symbol of harmony and balance is inviting all the inhabitants and friends of Charente-Maritime to unite in order to support Charente-Maritime and take part to its flight.

Ivan Sache, 15 September 2001, after information kindly forwarded by Cécile Cassara (PR Director of the General Council)

  Red dog casino