This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gard (Department, France)

Last modified: 2002-07-20 by
Keywords: gard | languedoc-roussillon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 30
Region: Languedoc-Roussillon
Traditional provinces: Languedoc
Bordering departments: Ardèche, Aveyron, Bouches-du-Rhône, Hérault, Lozère, Vaucluse

Area: 5,853 km2
Population (1995): 607,100 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nîmes
Sous-préfectures: Alès, Le Vigan
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 45 cantons, 353 communes.

The department is named after the river Gard (also called Gardon) ( 71 km), tributary of.Rhône.