This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Manche (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-11 by
Keywords: manche | basse-normandie | mont-saint-michel |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 50
Region: Basse-Normandie
Traditional province: Normandy
Bordering departments: Calvados, Ille-et-Vilaine, Mayenne, Orne

Area: 5,938 km2
Population (2006): 492,563 inhabitants

Préfecture: Saint-Lô
Sous-préfectures: Avranches, Cherbourg, Coutances
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 52 cantons, 601 communes.

The department is named after the French name of the English Channel.

Ivan Sache, 12 November 2009

Former flag of the General Council

[Former flag of the General Council]

Former flag of the General Council - Image by Ivan Sache, 30 September 2009

The former flag of the General Council of Manche is white with the former logo of the General Council. This flag must be obsolete since the General Council has adopted a new logo.

The former logo of the General Council of Manche shows the yellow silhouette of Mont-Saint-Michel flanked on its right by three ribbons blue, green and green, separated from each other by a thin white fimbriation and forming the stylized silhouette of the department. Below Mont-Saint-Michel are the writings "LA MANCHE" in half blue and green letters, and "CONSEIL GENERAL" in black letters.

Ivan Sache & Pascal Vagnat, 30 September 2009

  Red dog casino