This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Meurthe-et-Moselle (Department, France)

Last modified: 2003-08-21 by
Keywords: meurthe-et-moselle | lorraine | general council |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

[General Council Meurthe-et-Moselle]by Jaume Ollé

Flag of the General Council

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 54
Region: Lorraine
Traditional province: Lorraine
Bordering departments: Meuse, Moselle, Vosges
Bordering countries: Belgium (province of Luxembourg), Luxembourg

Area: 5,241 km2
Population (1995): 716,200 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nancy
Sous-préfectures: Briey, Lunéville, Toul
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 41 cantons, 587 communes.

The department is named after the rivers Meurthe (170 km) and Moselle (550 km), tributary of Rhine.