This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nièvre (Department, France)

Last modified: 2023-07-03 by
Keywords: nievre | bourgogne | general council |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council]by Ivan Sache

Flag of the General Council

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 58
Region: Bourgogne
Traditional provinces: Nivernais, Orléanais, Bourgogne
Bordering departments: Allier, Cher, Côte-d'Or, Loiret, Saône-et-Loire, Yonne

Area: 6,817 km2
Population (1995): 230,400 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nevers
Sous-préfectures: Château-Chinon, Clamecy, Cosne-Cours-sur-Loire
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 32 cantons, 312 communes.

The department is named after the river Nièvre (53 km), tributary of the Loire.

Flag of the General Council

The flag of the General Council (Conseil général) of the department of Nièvre is made of the logotype of the General Council placed on a white field. Below the logotype is written in black CONSEIL GENERAL DE LA NIEVRE.

The logotype is a parallelogram divided black-green by an ascending sinuous white road. I guess black stands for the forests and green for the meadows, which are the most important elements of the landscape in the department.

Ivan Sache, 25 November 2001

  Red dog casino