This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pyrénées-Orientales (Department, France)

Last modified: 2005-04-09 by
Keywords: pyrenees-orientales | languedoc-roussillon | roussillon | catalonia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Pyrenees-Orientales]by Jorge Candeias

Flag of the department

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 66
Region: Languedoc-Roussillon
Traditional provinces: Roussillon, Languedoc
Bordering departments: Ariège, Aude
Bordering countries: Andorra, Spain (Autonomous Community of Catalonia [province of Girona])

Area: 4,116 km2 (excluding the Spanish enclave of Llivia)
Population (1995): 376,200 inhabitants

Préfecture: Perpignan
Sous-préfectures: Céret, Prades
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 34 cantons, 475 communes.

The department is named ("Upper-Pyrénées") after the Pyrénées mountains.

Flag of the department

The department uses the flag of the traditional province of Roussillon, which is similar to the flag of Catalonia.

Ivan Sache, 4 March 2005