This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Honduras - Subdivisions

Last modified: 2004-10-23 by dov gutterman
Keywords: honduras | bay islands | swan islands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:



The CIA Factbook for 2000 lists the following:
Administrative divisions: 18 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Atlantida, Choluteca, Colon, Comayagua, Copan, Cortes, El Paraiso, Francisco Morazan, Gracias a Dios, Intibuca, Islas de la Bahia, La Paz, Lempira, Ocotepeque, Olancho, Santa Barbara, Valle, Yoro
Phil Nelson, 28 August 2000

As far as I know some of the departments have flag and others don't. Intibuca doesn't have flag, neither arms, but after some years the arms of the Development Comitee of Intibuca is used by the department autorities as departamental arms. I believe that flags of the departments capitals are used as departamental flags when is needed, but not all the capitals have flag. Comayagua, Tegucigalpa (Francisco Morazan), Trujillo (Colon) and perhaps some others have flag. If I don't remember wrong a departamental flag was published in Estandarte.
Jaume Olle', 29 August 2000

Bay Islands

In the zone existed two British colonies. The Protected Kingdon of the Moquitos (today Miskitos, see Mosquito Coast), and the colony of Bay Islands (today Hondurian province). Both were given up before the 1864 Order-in-Council that permitted colonies to have ensigns with flag badges - Mosquito Coast in 1860 to Nicaragua and the Bay Islands in 1859 to Honduras.
Roy Stilling, 26 July 1996

Swan Islands

On November 22, 1971, the US and Honduras signed a treaty recognizing Honduran sovereignty over the Swan Islands, whih had been claimed under the Guano Act of 1856. The treaty was effective September 1, 1972.
Phil Nelson, 27 April 2000

  Red dog casino