This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kastela (Split-Dalmatia, Croatia)

Grad Kaatela

Last modified: 2004-08-07 by
Keywords: split | dalmatia | splitsko-dalmatinska | kastela |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Zeljko Heimer, 3 August 2004

See also:

Other Sites:


The city of Kaatela is actually an aglomeration of seven smaller towns along the coast just north of Split, each being named Kaael with an additional attribute (Kaatel means, of course, castle or fort, Kaatela is the plural form).
The communities of Split, Solin and Kaatela formed the Civic Assembly of Communities of Split (Gradska zajednica opcina Split) until 1993. The emblem of the community of Kaatela was adopted some time in 1970's, and is basically the same as the one used nowdays (with the five-pointed star instead of the chequy shield at the top, most probably).
The emblem used nowdays is within a square frame a tower form whose central part is composed of seven different towers.
The flag of Kaatela is vertical, blue with the emblem in the middle and the name of the city below in two lines "GRAD KA`TELA". Most probably nither the emblem nor the flag are approved by the Ministry of Administration.
Zeljko Heimer, 3 August 2004

Coat of Arms

by Zeljko Heimer, 3 August 2004