This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ireland: county colours of Munster


Last modified: 2009-05-24 by
Keywords: ireland | munster | limerick | cork | waterford | kerry | clare | tipperary | crowns: 3 (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Munster] image by Mario Fabretto

See also:

County colours in Munster

The flags in popular use are based on the colours of the county teams in Gaelic football and hurling - the most popular spectator sports. As these flags are entirely unofficial, the designs vary: one sees the colours arranged as horizontal stripes, quarters, lozenges, etc., but vertical stripes are the most common. These flags have outgrown their sporting origins and are now widely used on festive occasions, flown alongside the European Union, national and provincial flags at shopping centres, hotels, etc.

Clare An Clár yellow and blue
Cork Corcaigh red and white (the 'blood and bandages')
Kerry Ciarraí green and gold
Limerick Luimneach green and white
Tipperary Tiobraid Árann blue and yellow
Waterford Port Láirge blue and white

Vincent Morley, 4 December 1996