This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nairobi (Kenya)

Last modified: 2002-08-09 by
Keywords: nairobi |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

[Nairobi] by Jordi Pérez, 18 October 1997

See also:


This is the municipal flag of Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. Nairobi is the financial and administrative capital province of Kenya, located in Eastern Africa 1o 17' South, 36o 50' degrees East. It was founded in the late 1890s when the Kenya-Uganda railway reached a point at which the indigenous Maasai people called Uaso Nyirobi, Maasai term used to mean 'the place of sweet waters'.  This is where the Maasai used to bring their livestock to graze and drink water. The 'Green City in the Sun' came into being due to the railway line that was being built, and it offered a midway between the famous Indian Ocean port of Mombasa and Kisumu on Lake Victoria. It was turned into the headquarters of the historic project designed to open the interior of the region for increased trade and commerce. From 1899 to 1905 it served as a British provincial capital. When Kenya gained its independence in 1963, Nairobi remained the capital city of the new republic marking a new period of rapid growth which has turned the city one of Africa’s leading regional centres. The cool weather conditions with little or no extremes are envied all over the world.It is a large, modern commercial and international business and tourist centre. There are many churches, mosques and temples where people of different faiths go to worship. There are restaurants which serve almost every kind of food, from local dishes to the most exotic. Nairobi is a major urban centre which boasts of having animal parks with all sorts of wildlife situated within a few miles from the city centre therefore making it a luctrative tourist attraction town.
Info from this website.
Jordi Pérez, 18 October 1997

Nairobi CoA

[Nairobi Coat of Arms] image from Ralf Hartemink's site.