This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Leeuwarden municipality (The Netherlands)

Provincial capital, Fryslân province

Last modified: 2003-09-20 by
Keywords: leeuwarden |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

leeuwarden municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 1 August 1947

Other Leeuwarden pages: See also:

Leeuwarden municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 90.516; area: 84,11 km². Settlements: Leeuwarden (seat), Goutum, Hempens/Teerns, Lekkum, Miedum, Snakkerburen, Wirdum/Swichum, Wytgaard.
Leeuwarden/Ljouwert (Ljout, locally: Luwarden) is the capital of the Dutch province Friesland/Fryslân.
This flag was readopted 1 August 1947 after an image from a flagbook of 1708. Before that the citizens used a flag of two bars of Blue and Yellow. But no less than 21 sources depict for Leeuwarden a flag with a yellow lion; in 16 cases on a green field, in 5 cases on a blue field.
Source: Sierksma, Nederlands Vlaggenboek, 1962.[sie62]
Jarig Bakker, 28 August 1999

Leeuwarden CoA

[Leeuwarden CoA] image from this webpage.

Granted 25 Mar 1818.

Goutum village

Goutum village Shipmate Flagchart :

Goutum, municipality Leeuwarden/Ljouwert, Friesland/Fryslân, the Netherlands. It was till 1944 part of Leeuwarderadeel.
The battlements on the flag refer to the Wiarda State, one of the last 'stinzen' (castles) in Friesland (demolished 1882).
Jarig Bakker, 18 January 2001

Huizum (Huzum) village

Huizum village Shipmate Flagchart :

Swichum village

Swichum village Shipmate Flagchart :

Wijtgaard (Wytgaard) village

Wijtgaard village Shipmate Flagchart :

Wirdum (Wurdum) village

Wirdum village Shipmate Flagchart :