This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oss (The Netherlands)

Noord-Brabant province

Last modified: 2003-05-31 by
Keywords: oss | ox |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

Oss municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Other Oss pages: See also:

Oss municipality

Oss is a merger of the former municipalities of Oss, Berghem and Megen, Haren en Macharen (also known as Megen c.a.), and paart of Heesch. (1 Jan 1994). Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 76.233; area: 104,40 km². Oss consists now of Oss (seat), Berghem, Megen, Haren, and Macharen. Since 1 Jan 2003 Ravenstein (8.466 inh, 42,68 km²) is part of Oss, with the small town of Ravenstein, and the villages Demen, Dennenburg, Deursen, Dieden, Herpen, Huisseling, Keent, Koolwijk, Neerlangel, Neerloon, Overlangel.
Jarig Bakker, 23 May 2003

Oss CoA

Oss CoAInternational Civic Arms :

Oss (former municipality

former municipality of Oss Shipmate Flagchart :

Oss old CoA

Oss old CoAInternational Civic Arms :

Berghem (former municipality

former Berghem Shipmate Flagchart :

Berghem CoA

[Berghem CoA] image from the Berghem website.

Megen, Haren en Macharen (former municipality

former megen, haren en macharen Shipmate Flagchart :

The small town of Megen on the Maas river, together with the villages of Haren and Macharen formed an independent county until 1800; it was sold then for 3.000.000 Dutch Guilders to the Bataafsche Republiek (as the Netherlands were called then). In 1810 Napoleon Bonaparte decided that Megen, Haren and Macharen had to form one municipality. When the French left the Netherlands in 1814 the county definitely ceased to exist.

Megen, Haren en Macharen CoA

[Megen c.a. CoA] image from the Megen website.