This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Den Helder (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2003-06-14 by
Keywords: den helder |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 2 Oct 1962; design: Kl. Sierksma.

See also:

Den Helder municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 60.026; area: 178,83 km². Settlements: Den Helder (seat), Huisduinen, Julianadorp.
Flag: description: The municipal flag of Den Helder consists of seven equally wide horizontal stripes of red and yellow, with in the canton a yellow disk with red fimbriation with height of three stripes, in which two crossed black anchors. The flag is a design by Kl. Sierksma in Groningen city. It was adopted by the municipal council on 2 Oct 1962.
Sierksma's Nederlands vlaggenboek (1962) [sie62] has a slightly different design (the disk is in de hoist center with height of 5 stripes), and reads: this flag was adopted in principle on 4 Jun 1962. Colors and design of the flag have been derived from the municipal CoA (Egmond-arms), to which navy/harbour emblems have been added, in the tradition of old navy authorities.
Source: the Den Helder municipal website.
Jarig Bakker, 2 Jun 2003

Den Helder CoA

[Den Helder CoA] image from the Den Helder municipal website.

Granted 20 Jun 1816