This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Heerhugowaard [North Holland, Municipality] (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2003-07-05 by
Keywords: heerhugiwaard |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

Heerhugowaard municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 16 Nov 1953

See also:

Heerhugowaard municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 47.313; area: 39,99 km². Settlements: Heerhugowaard (seat), Broekhorn, Butterhuizen, De Noord, Draai, Frik, Kabel, 't Kruis, Veenhuizen, Verlaat.
Heerhugowaard was originally the lake in which Count Willem II was killed in 1256. The lake was made dry in 1625-1631. "Heer Hugo" was Hugo van Assendelft, lord of the castle of Medemblik during the reign of Count Floris V. Heer Hugo was killed when the Westfriezen revolted after the murder of Floris, and destroyed the castle of Medemblik (1296).

Heerhugowaard CoA

[Heerhugowaard CoA] image from this website.

Granted 8 Dec 1936.