This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Westland province (New Zealand)

Last modified: 2002-10-26 by
Keywords: new zealand | westland | west coast | rugby |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Westland

Westland Province (a.k.a. "The West Coast") contains two counties Westland and Buller. These are traditionally very strong rivals. Unfortunately this means that Buller hates Westland county while still being part of Westland province. In order to stop the confusion, the rugby team was called West Coast (and I think the name of the county may also have been changed to West Coast, although I could be wrong on that).
James Dignan, 6 May 1999

The area is very sparsely populated, and was always just two counties (Buller and Westland / West Coast), plus three boroughs (Greymouth, Westport, and Hokitika). Buller county was based in Westport, Westland county was based in Greymouth. as far as I know, Westland is now one region, with its headquarters in Greymouth.
James Dignan, 30 July 1999

Rugby uniform colours

West Coast rugby uniform colours are red and white.
James Dignan, 21 March 1999

  Red dog casino