This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Papua and New Guinea 1970-1971 (Australia)

Australian Trust Territory of Papua and New Guinea

Last modified: 2004-12-29 by
Keywords: papua and new guinea | papua new guinea | australian trust territory of papua and new guinea | papua | new guinea | stars: 5 (white) | southern cross | stars: southern cross | bird of paradise |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag 1970-1971 (Papua New Guinea)] 2:3
by Mark Sensen

See also:


From the Flags of Paradise 1996 chart:

1970-1971: Australian Trust Territory: vertical triband, blue with white Crux Australis [southern cross], yellow, red with white paradise bird.
1971-1975: Australian Self Government: current national flag.
1975-: Independent state: current national flag.
(but Dorling Kindersley 1997 reports a golden paradise bird).

Ivan Sache (?)

Both Dorling Kindersley 1997 and Barraclough and Crampton 1981, page 213, report the stripes being blue, white and green, but the correct colours were: blue, yellow and green. Sources:

Mark Sensen, 14 August 2001