This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

COMECON (1949-1991)

Council for Mutual Economic Assistance

Last modified: 2010-11-12 by antónio martins
Keywords: comecon | star: 5 points (red) | arrows: 5 | arrow (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Sérgio Horta and António Martins, May 2000
See also:


COMECON means "Council for Mutual Economic Assistance"; it was formed by most of the Soviet-influenced countries.
Sérgio Horta, 27 May 2000

It was created in 1949, joining the Soviet Union, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Rumania, Czechoslovakia, Mongolia, Cuba and Vietnam. East Germany and Albania joined in 1950, the latter leaving in 1961 and the former in 1990. Comecon was disbaned in 1991.
António Martins, 29 May 2000


About the flag

The flag itself shows a quite intersting logo, with five arrows coming from the center back to the center again, meaning redistribution and “democratic centralism”. The number five has nothing to do with membership, just a way to show the red five pointed star of communism.
António Martins, 29 May 2000

This image is based on a image in the Grollier International Encyclopedia published in 1991.
Sérgio Horta, 27 May 2000

I’d bet that the Comecon flag was 1:2 and bright red, not 2:3 and dark red (like in the original Grollier International Encyclopedia image).
António Martins, 29 May 2000

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.