This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Provincial Flags (Solomon Islands)

Last modified: 2004-05-22 by
Keywords: solomon islands | subnational |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


From the Administrative Divisions of Countries ("Statoids") website:

Territorial extent

Central includes the Florida Islands (Nggela Sule and Nggela Pile are the largest), Savo Island, and the Russell Islands.
Choiseul includes Choiseul, Wagina (Vaghena), Rob Roy, and Taro Islands.
Guadalcanal includes Guadalcanal Island and adjacent islets.
Isabel includes Santa Isabel, San Jorge, Barora Fa, Barora Ite, the Ghizunabeana Islands, and others.
Makira includes San Cristobal, Ulawa, Uki Ni Masi, Santa Ana, Santa Catalina, and others.
Malaita includes Malaita, Maramasike, Manaoba, Ndai, and the islets and reefs of Stewart Islands (Sikaiana), Ontong Java (Lord Howe), Roncador, etc.
Rennell and Bellona includes Rennell Island (Mu Nggava) and Bellona Island (Mu Ngiki).
Temotu includes the Santa Cruz Islands (Vanikoro and Ndeni are largest), Reef Islands, Duff Islands, and the remote islands of Anuta, Fatutaka, and Tikopia.
Western includes the New Georgia Islands (New Georgia, Kolombangara, Vella Lavella, Rendova, Ranongga, Gizo, etc.), and the Shortland Islands (Alu, Treasury Islands, Fauro).

Change history

Before World War II, the Solomon Islands were divided into twelve administrative districts (...): Choiseul, Eastern Solomons, Gizo, Guadalcanal, Lord Howe, Malaita, Nggela and Savo, Rennell and Bellona Islands, Santa Cruz, Shortlands, Sikaiana (Stewart), Ysabel and Cape Marsh (...) Source: Encyclopędia Britannica World Atlas, 1951 edition.

Around 1945 the capital of country was moved from Tulagi to Honiara.

Postwar division of Solomon Islands (...): these districts were further subdivided into councils (in some cases one council was one district): Central, Eastern, Malaita, Western.

The Provincial Government Act of 1981 established seven provinces:

The new provinces were the same as the council areas under the previous system.

Around July 1983, the Capital Territory split from Guadalcanal district.

On 25 February 1995, Choiseul province split from Western. Possibly on a different date, Rennell and Bellona split from Central; Capital Territory merged with Guadalcanal.

Other names of subdivisions

Choiseul: Lauru (variant)
Makira: Makira and Ulawa (variant)
Temotu: Eastern Islands (variant)

Santiago Dotor, 18 May 2004

  Red dog casino