This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Morrow County, Ohio (U.S.)

Last modified: 2005-03-05 by
Keywords: morrow county | ohio |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Morrow County, Ohio] by located by Phil Nelson, 9 November 2003

based on an image at The Flag Lady's Flag Store

See also:

Description of the flag

A white flag with a central dark blue shape, probably the county, with a white pinnacle. Around the central emblem is a circle made of four strings of four red stars, the county name, and the year of founding, 1848.
Phil Nelson, 9 November 2003

Morrow County was founded February 24, 1848. It was formed from parts of Delaware, Knox, Marion, and Richland Counties. Morrow is named in honor of Jeremiah Morrow, who served as Ohio's 9th Governor from 1822 to 1826. He also served in the U.S. Senate and was a member of the House of Representatives when Morrow County was founded.

The first official flag of Morrow County was chosen in 1885. The following symbolic items are depicted within the design of the flag:
16 stars represent the 16 townships of Morrow County: Bennington, Cannon, Cardington, Chester, Congress, Franklin, Gilead, Harmony, Lincoln, North Bloomfield, Perry, Peru, South Bloomfield, Washington, and Westfield. Center outline of Morrow County is the Monument, dedicated to the citizens of Morrow County, by the U.S. Government for the highest sales per capita in the state, of World War I War Bonds and stamps in 1919. The reported sales were 727,070, or an average of 43.15 for every man, woman, and child in the County, which totalled 16,800 at that time. The number 1848 in the flag depicts the founding year of Morrow County.

The Flag, chosen in a countywide contest, was first flown at the 132nd Ohio State Fair in August of 1885.


submitted by: Falko Schmidt, 10 August 2001